Browse All Articles

Or filter by News, Views or Tips.

Sharing your mailbox

This month we are going to look at Microsoft Outlook and how you can look at other peoples Inboxes, Calendars, or other folders.

You will see how to allow other people to look at your information, and how you can see those of others. Remember, this only applies to systems on a network and will not work on your PC at home and other stand-alone situations.

Giving Other People Permission to Work With One of Your Folders - Eg: Calendar

There are two methods of giving others access to your Outlook system: Delegates and Permissions. They both have the same effect, and grant the same access rights.

Delegates allows you to consider the person first and what rights you want to give them. It can be reached from TOOLS-OPTIONS and clicking the Delegates tab.

Permissions works the other way round - you pick a folder first (eg Calendar), and then think about who gets what rights.

To apply Permissions to your calendar folder follow these steps:

  1. Right-click the Calendar icon in the list on the left of the screen and give the command Properties.
  2. The properties dialog-box opens - click the Permissions tab to see what the current settings are. The top-half shows who has permissions, and the bottom shows what rights they have. Usually there is a Default permission which is set by the system administrator.
  3. Click the Default user. The bottom half now shows what rights all your colleagues have to view this folder (in this case your calendar). There are different rights for viewing, creating, editing and deleting items. Different combinations of these are called a Role such as Reviewer, Author and Editor. Roughly, Reviewers can see the items but can't change anything, Authors can create items, but not delete and Editors have full rights. By choosing a different heading you can see what rights are assigned. Make sure you return the Default user back to it's original Role. (You can always Cancel if you're not sure.) Note that you can give someone permission to create items, and then edit those, but not edit or delete the items that you have created.
  4. To add someone to give them different rights to the Default click ADD. This takes you to the address book so that you can choose the individual in the usual way.
  5. Select the individual, click Add and then OK to return to the Permission dialog box.
  6. Choose a Role for this individual. and/or amend the detailed permissions in the bottom-half of the dialog.
  7. 7. You can now add more people, but if you have finished click OK.

All Outlook folders, such as the Inbox and your Personal Folders, can have Permissions set in this way.

Opening a Colleague's Folder

Once your colleague has given you Permission to access their folder you can open it as follows:

  1. Give the command FILE - OPEN - OPEN OTHER USERS FOLDER. A dialog-box opens for you to say which user and folder.
  2. In NAME, type your colleague's name (in the same way as if you were addressing an email to them).
  3. In FOLDER select the folder you want to open.
  4. Click OK.

The colleague's folder is opened in a new window.

Setting Your Outlook to Always Open a Colleague's Folder

If you have Permission, and you need regular access to a colleague's folder, you can add it as a permanent part of your Outlook system.

  1. Give the command TOOLS - SERVICES.
  2. From the list of Information Services, select Microsoft Exchange Server and click Properties. The Microsoft Exchange Server dialog-box opens.
  3. Click the Advanced tab. This will show a list of Additional mailboxes that are opened, when you open Outlook.
  4. Click ADD...
  5. Under Add mailbox, type your colleague's name (in the same way as if you were addressing an email to them).
  6. Click OK. Your colleague should now be listed under Additional mailboxes.
  7. Click OK until all the dialog boxes are closed.

Your colleague's mailbox will now be listed in your Folder List so you can access the parts you have Permissions for. (Use VIEW - FOLDER LIST if you do not have the list displayed.) The next time you open Outlook it will always have your colleagues mailbox available.

← Go back to Articles

Comments

Post new comment

Your email address will be kept private.

It’s Easy to Follow Us